forgiveness

Forgiveness is HARD
The Oxford English Dictionary defines forgiveness as ‘to grant free pardon and to give up all claim on account of an offense or debt’.

Ephesians 4:31-33 NIV tells us:
Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger… Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave me (you).

Wrestling with how to forgive someone who is no longer walking this earth & one who is not known to me anymore.

I’ve heard (somewhere) that it can be like peeling an onion. Layer by layer. Releasing the hurt/anger/shame/regret layer by layer burns & makes me cry but if I’m peeling away and giving it to God (the ultimate judge) there will be less and less until its gone, until there is nothing left of the hurt, anger, shame, regret.

As I forgive & release I want to live as Ephesians 5:1-2 says following God’s example as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved me and gave himself up for me as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Leave a Reply

